Re: Question on Blocking an ISP.
From: Byrne Ghavalas (security@nscs.uk.com)
Date: 12/03/02
- Previous message: John Daniele: "Re: Can anyone break MD5 scheme?"
- In reply to: Chris: "Question on Blocking an ISP."
- Next in thread: Robb, Bev: "RE: Question on Blocking an ISP."
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
From: "Byrne Ghavalas" <security@nscs.uk.com> To: <security-basics@securityfocus.com> Date: Tue, 3 Dec 2002 17:12:32 -0000
Hi,
Out of curiosity - does your mail server not allow you to reject all mail
from *@aol.com?
Would that not be a little easier than blocking all of their IP addressing
blocks?
Then again, there are some other benefits to blocking them at an IP level
<g>
Byrne G
----- Original Message -----
From: "Chris" <chris@jynx.net>
To: <security-basics@securityfocus.com>
Sent: Saturday, November 30, 2002 9:21 AM
Subject: Question on Blocking an ISP.
> As of the last couple weeks, from 1 aol users i have gotten over 1000+
virus
> emails.
> These emails are your tipical freescreensaver virus that has been going
> around for years now. It seems this person has an affected system. This
is
> not really my question or concern.
>
> I have been scanning though all the headers getting the proxy email
servers
> aol uses, but it seems like a endless list. LOL.
>
> I'm blocking these ips though IPchains, but i really would like to know
how
> to get every class owned by aol so i can block them all.
>
> Receiving mail from aol is no big thing to me, considering 99.9% of the
time
> is junk or spam.
>
> Is there some way to whois arin on a nic handle to get all the classes?
>
> Thank you.
> -chris
>
>
- Next message: Johannes Ullrich: "Re: Question on Blocking an ISP."
- Previous message: John Daniele: "Re: Can anyone break MD5 scheme?"
- In reply to: Chris: "Question on Blocking an ISP."
- Next in thread: Robb, Bev: "RE: Question on Blocking an ISP."
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|