Re: Block martians with source address 127.0.0.1
From: Patrick Benson (benson_at_chello.se)
Date: 06/01/04
- Previous message: Konstantin Gavrilenko: "Re: Block martians with source address 127.0.0.1"
- Maybe in reply to: Cedric Blancher: "Re: Block martians with source address 127.0.0.1"
- Next in thread: Kalevi Nyman: "Re: Block martians with source address 127.0.0.1"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Date: Tue, 01 Jun 2004 00:15:11 +0200 To: focus-linux@securityfocus.com
Bjørn Rasmussen wrote:
>
> Hi!
>
> I've firewall connected to the Internet via an ISDN-line. Sometimes
> martians arrive from the Internet with source address 127.0.0.1. I want
> to block these packets, but I don't find any way to set up the rules to
> accomplish this.
>
> Normally I use "fwbuilder" to set up my rules, but since the martians
> were not blocked by the spoofing-rules generated by "fwbuilder", I tried
> a simple test using iptables-commands directly.
>
> I added these rules as the only ones to the input chain on my
> LAN-interface:
>
> iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -s 127.0.0.1 -j LOG
> iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -s 127.0.0.1 -j DROP
> iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -s -j LOG
> iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -s -j DROP
>
> >From a client on my LAN, I used the command "nmap -e <LAN-interface on
> client> -S 127.0.0.1 <ip-addr. of firewalls LAN-interfac>" to spoof the
> localhost address.
>
> The kernel on the firewall logs these packets as martians which it
> should do, but my rules will not log or block these packets. Anybody
> who knows how to do it? Is it possible? I guess there are situations
> were malicious persons could at least perform a DoS-attack?
Björn,
You may want to take a look at Shorewall: http://shorewall.net/
which uses the BOGON feature:
http://shorewall.net/Documentation.htm#Bogons
You can process the packets normally, silently drop them or log then
drop.
A complete list of BOGONS can be found at:
http://www.completewhois.com/bogons/index.htm
Regards,
Patrick
-- Patrick Benson Stockholm, Sweden
- Previous message: Konstantin Gavrilenko: "Re: Block martians with source address 127.0.0.1"
- Maybe in reply to: Cedric Blancher: "Re: Block martians with source address 127.0.0.1"
- Next in thread: Kalevi Nyman: "Re: Block martians with source address 127.0.0.1"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|
|