Re: [Full-Disclosure] Suspect phpBB users

From: GuidoZ (uberguidoz_at_gmail.com)
Date: 12/27/04

  • Next message: bipin gautam: "RE: [Full-Disclosure] IE sp2 and Mozilla Firefox DoS."
    Date: Sun, 26 Dec 2004 18:48:03 -0500
    To: Frank Knobbe <frank@knobbe.us>
    
    

    > That doesn't mean the ndervyanko fella is the perpetrator, but most
    > likely the victim.

    This could very likely be true. It seemed like they were trying to
    advertise a commercial website the same way spam does.

    > I don't read Russian, and my Lynx doesn't display it either. Looks like
    > some search form.
    [snip]
    > From the way it looks, it seems to be an apology saying something like the
    > site got Slashdotted or so. Perhaps a Russian member of FD could confirm/translate.

    I don't speak Russian either, hence why I couldn't provide much more
    info. Maybe someone on FD that does could translate. =)

    > To me it looks like the author didn't like those two sites and was
    > hoping to DoS them, instead of attracting users for ... dunno... Rolex
    > offers or something...
    >
    > Probably a couple Russian teens attempting to throw the wrath of
    > insecure PHP systems at each other. :)

    An interesting thought indeed - and quite possible. Hopefully a
    translation could provide more information.

    --
    Peace. ~G
    On Sun, 26 Dec 2004 11:29:32 -0600, Frank Knobbe <frank@knobbe.us> wrote:
    > On Sun, 2004-12-26 at 06:57 -0500, GuidoZ wrote:
    > > I also noticed that the "nderevyanko" user has put up a number of
    > > posts to sites with the same text:
    > 
    > That doesn't mean the ndervyanko fella is the perpetrator, but most
    > likely the victim.
    > 
    > >  http://softexpert.atspace.com
    > 
    > I don't read Russian, and my Lynx doesn't display it either. Looks like
    > some search form.
    > 
    > > http://nderevyanko.narod.ru/
    > 
    > Again, I don't read Russian, but a page appears, slowly, after an
    > initial HTTP 404. From the way it looks, it seems to be an apology
    > saying something like the site got Slashdotted or so. Perhaps a Russian
    > member of FD could confirm/translate.
    > 
    > To me it looks like the author didn't like those two sites and was
    > hoping to DoS them, instead of attracting users for ... dunno... Rolex
    > offers or something...
    > 
    > Probably a couple Russian teens attempting to throw the wrath of
    > insecure PHP systems at each other. :)
    > 
    > Cheers,
    > Frank
    > 
    > 
    >
    _______________________________________________
    Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
    Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
    

  • Next message: bipin gautam: "RE: [Full-Disclosure] IE sp2 and Mozilla Firefox DoS."

    Relevant Pages

    • Re: Where is Mir Topolski?
      ... his being a victim of Rio's astronomical street crime. ... vacation time, so I wouldn't be too concerned for now... ... only one Russian name, which represents one Russian citizen on that ... Mir is a German national of Russian descent who has a Russian ...
      (soc.culture.baltics)
    • Re: Where is Mir Topolski?
      ... his being a victim of Rio's astronomical street crime. ... vacation time, so I wouldn't be too concerned for now... ... only one Russian name, which represents one Russian citizen on that ...
      (soc.culture.baltics)
    • Re: For Henry, exclusive!
      ... Vkarlamov pointed out) I don't understand Russian humour. ... "Victim mentality" probably appeals well to Russian ... that Ukraine, Belarus and Russia is one nation split by the Poles. ...
      (soc.culture.baltics)