Re: [Full-Disclosure] Is this a paypal scam?
From: Michael Cecil (macecil_at_comcast.net)
Date: 03/19/04
- Previous message: John.Airey_at_rnib.org.uk: "RE: [Full-Disclosure] Re: Administrivia"
- In reply to: ja6.com: "Re: [Full-Disclosure] Is this a paypal scam?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
To: full-disclosure@lists.netsys.com Date: Fri, 19 Mar 2004 05:26:31 -0600
jschmidt@buhler.com wrote:
>http://218.62.43.30/verify.html
>
>Signed up for paypal 2 weeks ago, and then this came in the mail as a link
>in a paypal looking html email asking me to confirm by entering my credit
>card/account info.
>I've only purchased 1 thing since signing up; it was from ebay from a
>longtime seller with nearly 100% positive feedback, and I received the
>equipment as expected.
>If this is a scam, then maybe paypal has some employees passing new
>account info outside the company.
>
>-jamie-
Short answer: Yes, it is a scam.
I don't have any paypal account (and never will) but I routinely get these
kind of emails. I get them apparently from banks and credit card companies
as well.
Good rule of thumb - never click on a link in email. Always use your
existing known-good URL for paypal (or whatever), then check the site for
security announcements, etc.
-- Michael Cecil macecil@comcast.net http://home.comcast.net/~macecil/howto/ http://home.comcast.net/~antiviruscd/ _______________________________________________ Full-Disclosure - We believe in it. Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
- Previous message: John.Airey_at_rnib.org.uk: "RE: [Full-Disclosure] Re: Administrivia"
- In reply to: ja6.com: "Re: [Full-Disclosure] Is this a paypal scam?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ] [ attachment ]
Relevant Pages
|