RE: [Full-Disclosure] [Fwd: Please contact me !!! 800 453 2287]

From: Meeusen, Charles D (cmeeusen_at_bnl.gov)
Date: 01/05/04

  • Next message: the measly one: "RE: [Full-Disclosure] [Fwd: Please contact me !!! 800 453 2287]"
    To: full-disclosure@lists.netsys.com
    Date: Mon, 5 Jan 2004 11:30:02 -0500
    
    

    Actually, I'm glad this was posted since I also received this (to my
    personal email address) and I've just spent the last 20 minutes or so
    investigating it. I usually just send my spam to trash and move on but this
    one caught my eye. If others got it, and can explain what's happening, I'd
    appreciate it.

    What I found:
    The email originated from c-24-126-245-82.we.client2.attbi.com
    [24.126.245.82]
    The phone number really is valid for a group called ibtco.com who I have no
    association with.
    Google search for "lidiya aliyeva" only returns these log segments:

    Jan 4 23:13:32 horsey testmail[11038]: i057DUSs011038:
    from=<lidiya.aliyeva@ibtco.com>, size=2056, class=0, nrcpts=1,
    msgid=<000701c3d34a$b5fd68b0$0101c80a@a>, proto=SMTP, daemon=testv4,
    relay=h62n2fls34o867.telia.com [217.208.39.62]

    Jan 4 23:13:34 horsey testmail[11060]: i057DXXC011053:
    to=lidiya.aliyeva@ibtco.com, delay=00:00:01, xdelay=00:00:01, mailer=esmtp,
    pri=212631, relay=ibtco.com.mail5.psmtp.com. [12.158.35.251], dsn=2.0.0,
    stat=Sent (Thanks)

    Jan 4 23:13:34 horsey testmail[11062]: i057DXKR011052:
    to=lidiya.aliyeva@ibtco.com, delay=00:00:01, xdelay=00:00:01, mailer=esmtp,
    pri=212625, relay=ibtco.com.mail5.psmtp.com. [12.158.35.251], dsn=2.0.0,
    stat=Sent (Thanks)

    Which can be seen in it's entirety here:
    http://test.smtp.org/log

    This isn't by any stretch an exhaustive inquiry, but I'd love to have
    someone who knows better than me tell me what's happening here. Why would
    email that, from all outward appearances seem to be spam, be sent with a
    valid phone number of a (seemingly) valid company but via (seemingly)
    nefarious means(seemingly) be trying to get banking info from me?

    C.

    -----Original Message-----
    From: the measly one [mailto:measlymonkey@theplanet.org]
    Sent: Monday, January 05, 2004 4:29 AM
    To: full-disclosure@lists.netsys.com
    Subject: RE: [Full-Disclosure] [Fwd: Please contact me !!! 800 453 2287]

    > andrewg@d2.net.au wrote:
    >
    >
    > For what its worth. I'm sure someone here knows the correct places to
    > report things like these.
    >
    > Headers:
    <snip>

    thank you for your spam, but i get enough on my own. why dont you trace it
    and
    find out where it came from? seems like the next logical step.

    the meas

    _______________________________________________
    Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
    Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html

    _______________________________________________
    Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
    Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html


  • Next message: the measly one: "RE: [Full-Disclosure] [Fwd: Please contact me !!! 800 453 2287]"

    Relevant Pages

    • RE: [Full-Disclosure] [Fwd: Please contact me !!! 800 453 2287]
      ... I usually just send my spam to trash and move on but this ... valid phone number of a valid company but via ... Full-Disclosure - We believe in it. ... Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html ...
      (Full-Disclosure)
    • Re: [Full-Disclosure] Fwd: this address is no longer available
      ... and get only 1..2 false positives and 5..10 not-recognized spam messages from ... >> Full-Disclosure - We believe in it. ... > Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html ...
      (Full-Disclosure)
    • Re: [Full-disclosure] spammer wades into US Presidential race
      ... So, I again ask, why mail full-disclosure if it's a job for the ... The fact that it was spam is ... Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html ... Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/ ...
      (Full-Disclosure)
    • Re: [Full-disclosure] Google creates SPAM haven
      ... Amazingly, despite years of SPAM being a huge problem, they have now ... Full-Disclosure - We believe in it. ... Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html ... Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/ ...
      (Full-Disclosure)
    • Re: FA; Posts in this group.
      ... | I have received a letter from my ISP accusing me of posting spam. ... While the Charter does not specifically prohibit "spam" the Charter was created back in ... Newsgroups: rec.outdoors.fishing ... rec.outdoors.fishing All aspects of sport and commercial fishing. ...
      (rec.outdoors.fishing)