RE: [Full-Disclosure] Whois acting funny in FreeBSD

From: Bassett, Mark (mbassett_at_omaha.com)
Date: 12/30/03

  • Next message: Brown, James (Jim): "[Full-Disclosure] whois.crsnic.net hacked?"
    To: "Chris McGinnis" <chrism@t3wireless.com>, <full-disclosure@lists.netsys.com>
    Date: Tue, 30 Dec 2003 13:47:01 -0600
    
    

    One more update ( sorry for the multiple postings..

    So looks like whois.godaddy.com whois.gandi.net and
    whois.itsyourdomain.com are the offenders.

    Server Name: MSN.COM.TW
       Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
       Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
       Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
     
     
     
       Server Name: MSN.COM.SUCKS.FIND.CRACKZ.WITH.SEARCH.GULLI.COM
       IP Address: 80.190.192.23
       Registrar: GANDI
       Whois Server: whois.gandi.net
       Referral URL: http://www.gandi.net

    Server Name: GOOGLE.COM.SUCKS.FIND.CRACKZ.WITH.SEARCH.GULLI.COM
       IP Address: 80.190.192.24
       Registrar: GANDI
       Whois Server: whois.gandi.net
       Referral URL: http://www.gandi.net
     
     
     
       Server Name:
    GOOGLE.COM.HAS.LESS.FREE.PORN.IN.ITS.SEARCH.ENGINE.THAN.SECZY.COM
       IP Address: 209.187.114.130
       Registrar: INNERWISE, INC. D/B/A ITSYOURDOMAIN.COM
       Whois Server: whois.itsyourdomain.com
       Referral URL: http://www.itsyourdomain.com
     
     
     
       Domain Name: GOOGLE.COM
       Registrar: ALLDOMAINS.COM INC.
       Whois Server: whois.alldomains.com
       Referral URL: http://www.alldomains.com
       Name Server: NS2.GOOGLE.COM
       Name Server: NS1.GOOGLE.COM
       Name Server: NS3.GOOGLE.COM
       Name Server: NS4.GOOGLE.COM

    Mark Bassett
    Network Administrator
    World media company
    Omaha.com
    402-898-2079

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Chris McGinnis [mailto:chrism@t3wireless.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, December 30, 2003 12:43 PM
    To: full-disclosure@lists.netsys.com
    Subject: [Full-Disclosure] Whois acting funny in FreeBSD

    Today I've noticed something weird on all my FreeBSD boxes. When I
    whois
    domains like msn.com, microsoft.com, aol.com and others I get stuff
    like:

    $ whois msn.com

    Whois Server Version 1.3

    Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
    with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
    for detailed information.

    MSN.COM.TW
    MSN.COM.SUCKS.FIND.CRACKZ.WITH.SEARCH.GULLI.COM
    MSN.COM

    My linux boxes seem to work fine. When I query a specific whois server
    such as whois.networksolutions.com it works fine also. Is anyone else
    getting anything like this? I'm thinking maybe the default whois server

    that the whois program queries has been compromised? I'm not sure what
    the
    default whois server is.

    -Chris

    _______________________________________________
    Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
    Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html

    ************************************************************
    Omaha World-Herald Company computer systems are for business use only.
    This e-mail was scanned by MailSweeper
    ************************************************************

    _______________________________________________
    Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
    Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html


  • Next message: Brown, James (Jim): "[Full-Disclosure] whois.crsnic.net hacked?"

    Relevant Pages

    • Re: VOIP SOLUTION
      ... Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net ... Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC. ...
      (alt.security.alarms)
    • OT: Google or Registrar cracked?
      ... Spam detection software, running on the system "vetinari.marshwiggle.net", has ... whois google.com gives among other things: Server Name: ... Registrar: GANDI Whois Server: whois.gandi.net Referral ... Referral URL: http://www.itsyourdomain.com ...
      (Debian-User)
    • Re: Question about changing to new ISP
      ... > Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, INC. ... > Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com ... They just need to update their DNS. ...
      (comp.unix.sco.misc)
    • Re: Is http://www.truecrypt.org down?
      ... |> | THK ... |> Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, ... |> Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com ...
      (sci.crypt)
    • Re: Talk About Golf; Win TaylorMade TP Balls
      ... with many different competing registrars. ... Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com ... EPP Status: clientDeleteProhibited ...
      (rec.sport.golf)